Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Question 8: What country are you in?

Antarctica is one of the seven continents. (The North Pole isn't a continent because it's just a big blob of ice without any land underneath.) There is no government on Antarctica, and so I guess it's not really a "country". Instead, it is set aside for scientific research. Many countries have scientific bases on Antarctica. The United States has three bases, one at the South Pole, McMurdo Station near New Zealand, and Palmer Station near Argentina.

No comments: